My first grant and a short update

I am so honored and psyched to have received my first grant award to help me fund a project. I was nominated and recommended for the St. Botolph Club Foundation’s Emerging Artist Award by another artist I’ve worked for over the last 2 years. I found out last week that I am one of the recipients of the $2,500 award. So here’s a big THANK YOU to my friend/employer/colleague who nominated me, and to the St. Botolph Club and judges! I’m really excited that this will help me get rid of some of the financial barriers to making more of my work. I can’t wait to get started and I’m already preparing.

In other news, I’ve been working a lot at my day jobs. While nearly everything I do is in the fieldĀ  — I work at the New England School of Photography (NESOP) and for some other artists/photographers — and I enjoy it all, it’s been difficult to make time to continue my own work. I spend time on it regularly, but it often gets overshadowed and postponed by the other work that pays the bills, or I run into this problem where I find plenty of time to shoot but not nearly enough time to really examine what I’ve done, edit, print, etc. This is changing though, as of this week. Maybe it’s the season change, maybe it’s the encouragement and relief that comes from receiving a grant, or maybe it was attending the NESOP class of 2010′s graduation this weekend and feeling re-inspired after being in that position just 2 short years ago. Either way, good things are in the works for me. I hope to have better updates soon.

2 responses to “My first grant and a short update

  1. Steph, Congratulations on geting the St. Botolph grant. It’s really exciting that you can now spend more time shooting.
    You ‘re really gifted and already you’ve accomplished a lot
    All the best, Jo

  2. Steph Plourde-Simard

    Thank you Jo, I really appreciate that, especially coming from you!

Leave a Reply

